Oregon’s Thelma & Louise

She’s the best friend I wish I’d grown up with.

She’s the friend I found, lost, and reunited with again.

She’s the friend who had the grace to tell me the truth that I fought her on.

She’s the friend who waited in the background while I figured out the truth.

She’s the friend who when I told her erroneously that she was in the wrong…. she forgave me.

I missed my best friend for a few years because of what I let myself be convinced of.

I missed how we could hang out doing everything, and doing nothing. I missed how there was never awkward silences from the first road trip we were on together. I missed those road trips, the hometown adventures we’d make. I missed the visits we made to one of our local old cemetery’s and neglected grave sites from the 1800’s- we imagined we were the most recent visitors.

I missed the natural connection with her that I’ve not known quite in the same way. Cosmically feeling like she could be the older sister I didn’t ever get to know because she died before I was born.

I missed the woman who was born and raised on the other side of the country from me.

I missed my best friend who is my sister without the biological ties, instead there is a cosmic connection.

Thankfully things, circumstances, and people change with time.

While every emotion takes a turn and often can distance us a true best friend remains forever, even when there is a distance. The concern, the wondering if they’re well and happy, the missing of what had been and what could be remains.

Best friends share the good and the bad, they also have this intuitive trust in their friendship that despite distancing their spirits continues to scream to close the gap.

Gratitude is a small word to use to describe the enormous feelings when the distance is closed again finally and the two friends reunite and resume as if not missing a beat.

My best friend, my sister, she is my Louise to my Thelma.

copyright_edit

ttaylor2016

7 thoughts on “Oregon’s Thelma & Louise

  1. My Dear Sister, You didn’t miss out! Those are all the times you did have together. There is no missing of the past. Past memories are not of the present. This is the moment you cherish. It is the friendship that exists right now because of every event that leads to now. What matters is not what you think you missed but, all the new places you get to go, together. All the conversations you get to have, now. Enjoy the past memories with fondness because, you didn’t miss those events. You were there to experience them. Now, what are you going to do with this friendship? What experiences will you share? You gained a lot, and really didn’t miss anything. Ironic as I too have a life long friend, and this story parallels that friendship to some degree.
    Cordially, As Always,
    I Remain,
    Your Brother

    • My dearest Groovy Brother,
      I love you for this! Your words and sentiments are frankly spot on when I looked at it with this perspective. I did live it, so did she, we just were in different places during that time, but still very much present.
      It’s a beautiful kind of friendship that allows one another to live the then, the now, and the future regardless of where each of us might be.
      You asked what experiences will we share? As I said my friend is my Louise to my Thelma and we’re hitting the road! (and the air) Sarasota/Tampa Florida in June to begin with. I’m beyond excited, I’ve never been further east of Oregon than Colorado.

      I love that you resonated with a parallel friendship.
      I hope Dave this finds you well my dearest brother. I think of you often and keep you in my positive intentions.
      Peace and easy days my brother,
      Your devoted sister.

You are most welcome to share your thoughts, comments, and/or complaints here. Know though complaints are only handled on the 2nd Tuesday of the week.~ The Management